City of Perth Amateur

The City of Perth Amateur Championship was first played for in 1958 as a WA Golf Association event. It was to be played on a rotating basis around the metropolitan clubs.

However, after five years Royal Perth was asked to take it over on a permanent basis.

The Honour Board was presented to Royal Perth by Mr Lionel Gleeson, a member of the Killara Club in New South Wales. He was General Manager of Western Insurance Co (Mac Morrison a Royal Perth member was its WA manager) and donated the board in appreciation of the hospitality he had received during his many visits to Royal Perth.

The “City of Perth” has always been a feature event on the WA golf calendar and has been a useful medium for State Amateur Team player selection.

2023 Qualifying Round Draw Please Click Here

2023 Match Play Results – Sunday 2 April please Click Here

1st Round Results please Click Here

2nd Round Results please Click Here

36 Hole Results please Click Here 


Recent Winners:

2023: Ollie Marsh (Wanneroo)

2022: Shaun Cameron (The Cut)

2021: Fred Lee (RPGC)

2020: Joseph Owen (LKCC)

2019: Liam Purslowe (WAGC)

2018: Hayden Hopewell (Royal Fremantle)

2017: Michael Dennis (Royal Perth)

2016: Cooper Geddes (Mandurah)

2015: Kiran Day (Cottesloe)

Multiple Winners:

4 Terry Gale  1972, 1973, 1974, 1975
  Glenn Carbon 1984, 1988, 1989, 1993
  Michael Dennis 2005, 2007, 2010, 2017
3 Roger Mackay 1981, 1982, 1983
  Dean Alaban 1994, 1999, 2000
2 Denis Bell 1961, 1963
  Barry Jones 1964, 1965
  Graham Marsh 1966, 1967
  Peter Carbon 1976, 1978
  Jon Evans 1985, 1987